Lecture Notes in Logic, 5

Model Theory of Fields, Second Edition

David Marker, Margit Messmer, Anand Pillay

Year: 2017
ISBN: 9781107168077
200 pages.
Buy now

In this volume, the fifth publication in the Lecture Notes in Logic series, the authors give an insightful introduction to the fascinating subject of the model theory of fields, concentrating on its connections to stability theory. In the first two chapters David Marker gives an overview of the model theory of algebraically closed, real closed and differential fields. In the third chapter Anand Pillay gives a proof that there are 2א non-isomorphic countable differential closed fields.

Table of Contents

  • Preface to the Second Edition
  1. Introduction to the Model Theory of Fields by David Marker
  2. Model Theory of Differential Fields by David Marker
  3. Differential Algebraic Groups and the Number of Countable Differentially Colsed Fields by Anand Pillay
  4. Some Model Theory of Separably Close Fields by Margit Messmer
  • Index